May 10, 2024

2020 - 2023 PhD Thesis Award Winner

On the PhD Theses Examined in 2024 for the Best Graduating Doctoral Thesis Award 

I am glad to inform the university community that Dr. Daniel Francis PhD (Functional Analysis), 

Category: General
Posted by: nms

Department of Mathematics (FUTO) was announced as the winner of best PhD (mathematics) thesis in Nigeria (2023), by the council of the Nigeria Mathematical Society (NMS) at the just concluded Nigerian mathematical society conference holding at the University of Ibadan.
The award comes with several benefits and recognition.
Things to note concerning this award
(1) This is the first time a PhD student of Department of mathematics FUTO is winning this award in over 40 years existence of NMS
(2) Dr. Daniel Francis published a total of 12 papers from his PhD thesis all indexed in Scopus, WoS.
Congratulations to Department of mathematics FUTO!!!
Congratulations to FUTO!!!
Main Supervisor:
Dr. G.A. Okeke (Associate Professor, Department of mathematics, FUTO).


The NMS best PhD Thesis award for the previous years 2020, 2021 and 2022 are as follows:

(1) Adamu, Abubakar who obtained his PhD at African University of Science and Technology (AUST) Abuja (2020).

(2) Araka, Nnamdi Nonso who obtained his PhD at Nnamdi Azikiwe University Awka (2021).

(3) Atokolo, William who obtained his PhD at University of Nigeria Nsukka (2022)

Previous page: Annual General Meetings (AGM) Next page: Notices